Decision making

The highest decision-making power is vested in the local council, whose members are elected by a general and equal municipal election every four years. The municipality council appoints the members of the municipal board, the tasks of which include the preparation of decisions for the municipality council and their execution.

The local council also appoints the committees that are in charge of statutory municipal services. A new operations model was introduced in Kempele at the beginning of 2009, in which connection all councils other than the statutory ones were discarded. Four select committees were set up: those for vitality, services, resources and collectivity (previously 'autonomy' or 'self-government'). The ordinary members of these committees will have to be members of the local council, which allows the council members to participate in the decision-making process already in the preparation work.